Counselling Service Counselling Service



What is Psychology?

Psychology is both an applied and basic science that concerns the human mind and behaviour. It is a diverse and holistic discipline that involves applying scientific evidence to explain various aspects of human mentality and activities. Psychologists are professionals who apply the knowledge to assess the psychological condition of individuals, and engage them in various forms of therapies, including counselling, psychotherapy and behavioural therapy, in order to improve the psychological well-being of the individuals.

Different Types of Psychologists

The Registration Board of the Hong Kong Psychological Society was set up in 1994. It maintains a Professional Register which contains the names and specialties of qualified psychologists recognized by the Hong Kong Psychological Society. There are four specialist divisions of Registered Psychologists with different designations:

RCP (HKPS):

Registered Psychologist – Division of Clinical Psychology

REP (HKPS):

Registered Psychologist – Division of Educational Psychology

RCoP (HKPS):

Registered Psychologist – Division of Counselling Psychology

IOP (HKPS) :

Registered Psychologist – Division of Industrial-Organizational Psychology

Counselling Psychologists

Counselling Psychologists integrate psychological theory and research with therapeutic practice in order to provide comprehensive psychological services that can promote positive development and mental wellness of individuals. They work with affected individuals to look at their mental health issues, including depression, stress, anxiety etc., and explore the underlying problems that may have caused them, which may include bereavement, interpersonal relationships and other significant life events. Through various activities such as counselling and psychotherapy, they work collaboratively with affected individuals to empower them to control their own emotion and to improve their sense of personal well-being.

Clinical Psychologists

Like counselling psychologists, clinical psychologists aim to reduce psychological distress and to enhance and promote psychological well-being. They use a variety of methods, including psychometric tests, interviews and observations, to assess the mental health of the affected individuals, and deal with mental problems including anxiety, depression, addiction and relationship problems. Clinical psychologists work primarily in health care settings such as hospitals.

The difference between counselling psychologists and clinical psychologists

There is considerable overlap between counselling and clinical psychologists. Traditionally however, the main difference between counselling and clinical psychologists is their perspective and training. A counselling psychologists, in general, has a stronger focus on healthy individuals who have fewer pathological mental problems; whereas a clinical psychologist focuses more on those with more serious mental illnesses such as psychosis.

What can our counselling psychologist offer?

Life is full of challenges and sometimes these challenges may bring about stress. Patients may experience emotional turmoil when they are diagnosed to have a severe illness, when they have a miscarriage or an unsuccessful infertility treatment, or when first-time mothers are changed with baby care etc. They do not have mental diseases that warrant treatments by psychiatrists. A counselling psychologist is the most appropriate professional to provide assistance. Our counselling psychologist is a registered counselling psychologist with the Hong Kong Psychological Society, and can offer professional service to the following groups of patients:


Patients who need hysterectomy or mastectomy:

While the reason for having a hysterectomy (surgical removal of the uterus) or a mastectomy (surgical removal of the breasts) may by itself exert a huge psychological toll on the women, the absence of what is traditionally considered a sign of feminism may bring upon an even more significant impact emotionally. Women after the surgery may think that they are less feminine and less attractive to their spouse, and this will negatively affect the marital relationship in married couples. The impact may even be more pronounced in single women who may not have the courage to start a new relationship. They feel a sense of loss and even depression. Our counselling psychologist can help women rebuild their body image and self-esteem, and thus restore their relationship with their spouse. The aim is to help them achieve both physical and psychological recovery.

Couples going through fertility treatments:

Most people just focus on the physical sufferings from fertility treatments, and have overlooked the impact of the treatments on the psychology of the infertile couple. Many a times, couples with infertility may suffer from grief, depression, anger and frustration. They commonly experience anxiety during the course of treatment, especially when the treatment fails. Some may even have relationship problems with their spouse and other close family members. Our counselling psychologist can help couples build coping strategies to deal with different stress. Interpersonal therapy which focuses on improving relationships can help restore family harmony and relief anxiety and even depression. It has been shown that addressing psychological factors, such as stress, anxiety and depression, may increase the chance of fertility treatment success.

Pregnancy loss:

Miscarriage is a traumatic event for both women and men. It can lead to grief, anxiety, depression and even post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). It may take months or even years for the couple to recover psychologically from a miscarriage. The couple may struggle to cope with the pregnancy loss and the fear of having another miscarriage should the woman become pregnant again. This may lead to relationship breakdown between the couple and may even affect the dynamic of the whole family. Our counselling psychologist can help the couple and the family go through the difficult process of grieving, develop coping skills and rebuild their relationships so that they can start their new life again.

Postpartum blues:

It is common for women to experience baby blues or postpartum blues. They feel stressed, anxious, tired and weepy following the birth of their babies. This may result from a combination of many factors, such as a change in hormone levels after childbirth, stress involved in caring for a newborn, first-time motherhood, having a challenging baby who cries more than usual etc. Postpartum blues usually goes away on its own, when the new mothers settle down for baby care. But some women may experience a more serious mood disorder – postpartum depression. Postpartum depression can appear days or even months after delivery, and can last for months if left untreated. Our counselling psychologist can lend emotional support to mothers with postpartum blues or mild postpartum depression, and offer psychotherapy to help mothers learn how to manage their feelings and cope with problems so that they can come out of postpartum blues quickly. Through interviews and observations, our counselling psychologist can identify those mothers with more severe postpartum depression and can refer them to a psychiatrist early.


Our doctors treat our patients with the most advanced and the best evidence-based medical treatments, and our counselling psychologist looks after their psychological health. It is our noble goal to provide holistic care to all our patients and their family, to take care of their physical and mental well-being so that they will have a complete recovery.

Counselling Service 輔導服務



甚麼是心理學?

心理學是一門專門研究人類心智和行為的基礎和應用科學,以多樣及全面的方式,運用科學證據以解釋人類的心理及活動。心理學家將相關的專業知識應用於評估個人的心理狀態及制定各種模式的治療,包括心理輔導、心理治療和行為療法,去改善個人的心理健康。

不同種類的心理學家

香港心理學會於1994年成立註冊委員會,為符合專業資格的心理學家提供專業註冊。註冊名單內列明了受認可的心理學家的名字和其所屬專業部門。根據所註冊的專業部門,名單內的心理學家可使用指定的稱號:

RCP (HKPS):

註冊心理學家 – 臨床心理學

REP (HKPS):

註冊心理學家 – 教育心理學

RCoP (HKPS):

註冊心理學家 – 輔導心理學

IOP (HKPS) :

註冊心理學家 – 工業與組織心理學

輔導心理學家

輔導心理學家將心理學的理論和研究整合,再應用於實踐治療,以提供全面的心理輔導予受精神問題困擾的人士,從而促進個人的正向發展和心理健康。輔導心理學家會與受助者緊密合作,去探索隱藏的深層次問題,這些可能是喪親、人際關係或其他重大的人生事件等。這些問題可能就是導致抑鬱、精神緊張、焦慮等精神問題的基本因素。輔導心理學家再透過各種的方式,例如輔導和心理治療,使受助者有能力控制自己的情緒,從而改善他們的心理健康。

臨床心理學家

和輔導心理學家一樣,臨床心理學家的工作也是減低受助者的心理困擾以提升他們的心理健康。臨床心理家會運用各種方法,包括心理測試、面談和觀察去評估受助者的精神健康。他們也會處理焦慮、抑鬱、癮癖和人際關係等精神問題。臨床心理學家主要集中在衞生保健設施內工作,例如醫院。

輔導心理學家和臨床心理學家的分別

輔導心理學家和臨床心理學家的工作有很大程度的重疊。他們的分別主要在於他們的觀點和訓練。一般而言,輔導心理學家比較關注健康的、沒有精神病的受助者;而臨床心理學家則著重處理精神病病患者。

我們的輔導心理學家可以提供甚麼服務?

人生中不斷都會遇上各種不同形式的壓力,例如因疾病而需要接受治療,經歷流產或不育治療失敗,或新手媽媽面對照顧初生嬰兒困難時都可能會導致情緒問題。這些病人本身並沒有精神病,不需要尋求精神科醫生的治療。輔導心理學家是最適合的人選去為這些病人提供專業的支援。我們的輔導心理學家是香港心理學會的註冊輔導心理學家,能為以下的病人提供服務:


需要切除子宮或乳房的病人:

不幸患上疾病本身可能已為病患者帶來心理上的創傷,再加上治療疾病的方法是手術切除傳統被視為女性性徵的器官 – 子宮或乳房,令患病的女士心理上更難於接受。手術後的病人可能會覺得自己缺乏女人味,對異性失去吸引力,從而令夫婦關係變差。對於單身女士,她們甚至因此而不敢展開新的異性關係。她們會感到失落,甚至抑鬱。我們的輔導心理學家可幫助女士重新建立自己的身體形象和自信,修補夫婦間的關係,令病人能得到身體上和心理上的全面康復。

接受不育治療療程的夫婦:

在討論不育治療時,大部份人都只集中關注身體上所承受的痛苦,而忽略了不育夫婦所面對的精神壓力。很多不育的夫婦都會感到悲傷、抑鬱、憤怒和挫敗;在療程期間又經常感到焦慮;當知道治療失敗時,這挫敗感更覺嚴重。有些夫婦更因此而產生磨擦,影響夫婦甚至整個家庭的關係。我們的心理輔導家可以幫助夫婦建立心理應對策略去應付各種壓力。人際關係治療亦可幫助恢復家庭關係,從而舒緩焦慮甚至抑鬱。已有研究證實解決某些心理因素,例如精神緊張、焦慮和抑鬱,可以增加不育治療的成功機會。

流產:

無論對女士或男士,流產都是一項重大的心理創傷。流產可引致悲傷、焦慮、抑鬱甚至造成創傷後壓力症侯群 (PTSD),又稱創傷後遺症。部份夫婦需要數月甚或數年才能擺脫流產的陰影。其間,夫婦在流產的悲痛中掙扎,又擔心再次懷孕時會再經歷流產。最終可能引致夫妻關係破裂和影響整個家庭。我們的輔助心理學家可幫助夫婦和他們的家人走出傷痛,應對心理創傷,修補與家人的關係,讓他們重新振作,開展新生活。

產後憂鬱:

很多女士都會有產後憂鬱。她們會覺得壓力大、焦慮、疲倦和容易哭。引致產後憂鬱的原因有很多,包括產後賀爾蒙的改變,照顧初生嬰兒的壓力、初任母親、嬰兒特別愛哭等。當新手母親逐漸熟習照顧嬰兒的工作,這憂鬱的情緒便會慢慢消失。但有部份女士會患上較嚴重的產後抑鬱症。產後抑鬱症可在產後數天甚至數月內出現,如果沒有適當的處理,症狀可持續數月。我們的輔導心理學家可為產後憂鬱和輕度產後抑鬱的母親給予情緒上的支援和提供心理治療,去控制她們的情緒和應付問題,從而令她們能儘快走出這憂鬱。透過面談和觀察,輔導心理學家可以找出嚴重產後抑鬱症的母親,儘快轉介她們向精神科專科醫生求診。

我們的醫生為病人提供最先進和經實證的醫學治療,而我們的輔導心理學家則同時照顧病人的心理健康。我們的宗旨是向每一位病人和她們的家人提供全人治療,令她們能得到全面的身心康復。