Useful Informaton Health Informaton




Expanded Carrier Screening (ECS)

What are carrier screening and expanded carrier screening?

When a woman is pregnant or planning to become pregnant, the woman wants everything to go right. While most babies are born healthy, with every pregnancy there is a small chance of having a baby with a genetic disorder. With carrier screening, a woman can learn her risk for passing on an inherited genetic disorder to her child. Carrier screening is a type of genetic test that analyzes a woman and her partner’s DNA to identify whether she and / or her partner are carriers of a genetic disorder, thus providing specific information about their child’s risk for certain genetic disorders. Expanded carrier screening (ECS) means that a panel of inherited genetic disorders is screened in a single sample, the majority of the genetic disorders tested are caused by recessive genes.

What does it mean to be a ‘carrier’ of a genetic disorder?

A change in a gene is called a mutation. A mutated gene may become defective. A person carrying a mutated gene may or may not have symptoms, depending on whether the gene is a dominant gene or a recessive gene. For dominant genes, only one copy of the mutated gene will be necessary for a person to be affected by the disease. For recessive gene, both copies of the same mutated gene must be present for a person to have the disease. A person carrying a single copy of a mutated recessive gene is called a carrier. Carriers of a recessive gene are usually healthy and do not have symptoms or have only mild symptoms. They often do not have a family history of the disorder. Therefore, most individuals do not know their carrier status prior to screening.

If the disease-causing recessive gene is located on an autosome, then the condition is called an autosomal recessive disorder. If both parents are carriers, there is a 1 in 4 chance of having a child affected by the condition. There is a 50% any child will be a carrier like the parents.

If the disease-causing recessive gene is located on the X chromosome, then the condition is called an X-linked recessive disorder. If the mother is a carrier of an X-linked recessive condition, there is a 50% chance any son will be affected and a 50% chance that any daughter will also be a carriers.

Who should consider expanded carrier screening?

Carrier screening can provide important information for people who:

What disorders are screened for?

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) recommends all women who are considering pregnancy or are already pregnant should be offered carrier screening for spinal muscular atrophy (SMA), cystic fibrosis (CF), thalassemia and haemoglobinopathies. Women with risk factors should be screened for fragile X premutation. Additional screening may also be indicated based on family history or specific ethnicity. The American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics (ACMG) concurs with a similar advice.

Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA)

Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is a genetic disorder characterized by weakness and wasting (atrophy) of muscles all over the body which usually worsens with age. Depending on the age of symptom onset and the severity of muscle weakness, SMA can be categorized into 3 common types, Type I to III. Types 0 and IV are very rare.

SMA Type I is the most common form of the condition. It is a severe form of the disorder with muscle weakness evident at birth. Most affected babies cannot achieve basic movements such as lifting their head, turning their body or sitting upright. They may also have sucking and swallowing problems. Due to weakness of respiratory muscles causing respiratory failure, most of these babies do not survive past 2 years of age.

Children affected by SMA Type II start to have muscle weakness between 6 and 12 months of age. They can sit without support but cannot stand or walk unaided. They usually can live into their thirties. Individual affected by SMA Type III start to have muscle weakness in early childhood. They can stand and walk unaided initially, but eventually require wheelchair assistance later in life. They typically have a normal life expectancy.

Spinal muscular atrophy affects 1 in 8,000 to 1 in 10,000 people worldwide. It is caused by mutations in the SMN1 gene and is inherited in an autosomal recessive pattern.

Cystic Fibrosis

Cystic fibrosis is characterized by the buildup of thick mucus all over the body, and that can damage the body organs especially the respiratory system and the digestive system, causing many health problems. With improved treatments, many people with cystic fibrosis can now live into adulthood. Most men with cystic fibrosis have congenital bilateral absence of the vas deferens (CBAVD), a condition whereby the tubes that carry sperms (the vas deferens) are blocked by mucus and thus cannot develop properly. As a result, these men are infertile and have to undergo fertility treatment in order to father any children. Women with cystic fibrosis may experience more complications during pregnancy.

Cystic fibrosis is a common genetic disease within the white population, and affects 1 in 2,500 newborns. It is less common in other ethnic groups, affecting about 1 in 31,000 Asians. This condition is caused by mutations in the CFTR gene and is inherited in an autosomal recessive pattern.

Thalassaemia

Thalassaemia is a hereditary type of anaemia. There are two types of thalassaemia: alpha(α)-thalassaemia or beta(β)-thalassaemia.

α-thalassaemia:

A child inherits four alpha(α)-globin genes, two from each parent, that control the production of haemoglobin alpha chain. α-thalassemia occurs when one or more of these α-globin genes fail to work properly. The most severe form of α-thalassaemia is called Hb Bart Syndrome when all four α-globin genes are defective, resulting in a severe form of anaemia. Most affected babies die in utero or soon after birth. Hb Bart Syndrome can also cause serious complications for the mother, including high blood pressure (pre-eclampsia), polyhydramios (excessive amniotic fluid) and premature delivery.

β-thalassaemia:

The production of hemoglobin beta (β) chain is determined by two β-globin genes, one from each parent. The severity of β-thalassemia depends on whether one or both of these β-globin genes fail to work properly. Thalassemia major, also known as Cooley's anemia, is the more severe form of β-thalassaemia when both β-globin genes are defective. Life-threatening anemia appears within the first 2 years of life, so these children need frequent blood transfusions. Repeated blood transfusions lead to a buildup of iron in the body, resulting in liver, heart, and hormone problems.

Both forms of thalassemia are fairly common worldwide, particularly in Southeast Asia, the Mediterranean countries, Africa, the Middle East, India, and Central Asia. Around 8% of the population in Hong Kong are carriers of either one form of thalassaemia. α-thalassaemia typically results from deletions involving the HBA1 and HBA2 genes, whereas β-thalassaemia is caused by mutations in the HBB gene. They are both inherited in autosomal recessive pattern, although the mode of inheritance for α–thalassaemia is more complex.

Fragile X Syndrome

Fragile X syndrome (FXS) is the commonest cause of inherited intellectual impairment. All male carriers with full mutation suffer from FXS. They present with learning difficulties (IQ less than 70), behavioral problems and some physical features. About 50% female carriers with full mutation suffer from FXS, with mild to moderate mental disabilities, generally less severe than males.

Fragile X premutation carriers do not have any symptoms when they are young. Female permutation carriers may suffer from early menopause, i.e. no periods before 40 years of age (Fragile X associated Primary Ovarian Insufficiency, FXPOI). Both male and female permutation carriers may develop Fragile X Associated Tremor / Ataxia Syndrome (FXTAS), a late onset neurodegenerative when they reach the age of 50 years. A female premutation carrier can pass the abnormal gene to her offspring, and the premutation gene may become a full mutation in the offspring which leads to FXS in her children.

The prevalence of Fragile X premutation in female is approximately 1 in 250-1,000. It is inherited as an X-linked dominant disorder. Fragile X premutation carrier screening is recommended for women with a family history of fragile X-related disorders or intellectual disability suggestive of fragile X syndrome, or women with a personal history of ovarian insufficiency.

In Hong Kong Reproductive Health Centre, we offer an ECS test that covers 301 genes, including the ones recommended for screening by ACOG and ACMG. With this ECS test, many disorders are screened using a single sample, without regard to ethnicity.

How is the test carried out?

You need to see your doctor to discuss the benefits and limitations of the screening test and sign a consent form for the test if you choose to have it done. A blood sample will be taken in the clinic and the result will be ready in 3 to 4 weeks.

What do my results mean?

Negative result: A negative result means that no disease-causing mutations were identified for any of the disorders tested. A negative test provides reassurance because the chance of you having a child with any of the tested disorders is reduced. However, ECS detects known disease-causing mutations on the ECS panel. It is unable to detect all disease-causing mutations for each disease. Therefore, even if your test result is negative, you still have a small chance of being a carrier of the tested disorders, but the chance is much lower than before the test. This is called a residual risk. Furthermore, ECS does not check for all known genetic disorders. Therefore, a negative test result does not guarantee a normal baby.

Positive result: A positive result means that a disease-causing mutation was found, and you are a carrier of one or more of the disorders tested. Being a carrier typically does not affect your own health. However, it does mean that there is an increased risk of having a child with that disorder. The next step is usually to test your partner.

Reproductive options for at-risk couples

If the results show that a couple is at increased risk of having a child with one of the disorders on the carrier screen, the following options can be considered:

Useful Informaton 健康資訊




擴張性遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查(ECS)

甚麼是遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查和擴展性遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查(ECS)?

當女士準備懷孕或已成功懷孕,她當然希望可以順利誕下一個健康的嬰兒。雖然大部分媽媽都能如願以償,但偶然也會有罹患基因病的嬰兒出生。遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查讓女士可了解她把遺傳性基因病傳給下一代的風險。此篩查是檢測女士和她的伴侶是否攜帶某些遺傳病基因,從而評估他們的下一代患有這些遺傳病的機會。擴展性遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查(ECS)是指以單一樣本去檢測一系列特定的遺傳病基因,當中大部分都屬於隱性基因。

甚麼是遺傳病基因攜帶者?

基因所發生的變化稱為突變。突變後的基因可能會失去功能而成為病變基因。攜帶病變基因的人士不一定發病,視乎其所攜帶的病變基因是屬顯性或隱性。顯性基因病只需要一個病變基因便可誘發疾病;但隱性基因病則需要兩個病變基因同時存在才會發病,而只有一個隱性病變基因的人士被稱為攜帶者。隱性遺傳病基因攜帶者通常是健康及沒有症狀,或只有輕微症狀的。他們一般也沒有家族遺傳病史。所以,大部份隱性遺傳病基因攜帶者在篩查前都不知道自己帶有致病的突變基因。

如果致病的隱性基因位於常染色體上,則該疾病被稱為常染色體隱性遺傳病。如果父母雙方都帶有同一疾病的致病突變基因,其下一代將有25%罹患該病的概率,及50%的機會成為隱性基因攜帶者。

如果致病的隱性基因位於X染色體上,則該疾病被稱為X染色體隱性遺傳病。攜帶X染色體隱性遺傳病突變基因的母親有50%的機會把此病傳給兒子,而其女兒則有50%的機會成為隱性基因攜帶者。

誰應考慮ECS?

ECS可為以下人士提供重要的資料:

篩查的基因病包括哪些疾病?

美國婦產科協會(ACOG)建議所有準備懷孕或已成功懷孕的女士應進行某些特定的遺傳性基因病篩查,包括脊髓肌肉萎縮症(SMA)、囊性纖維化(CF)、地中海貧血和血紅素病變;具有高危因素的女士需要進行脆性X基因攜帶者篩查;根據家族病史或特定種族,個別人士還需要進行其他篩查。美國醫學遺傳學與基因組學協會(ACMG)也有相同的建議。

脊髓肌肉萎縮症(SMA)

脊髓肌肉萎縮症是一種遺傳性疾病,影響全身的肌肉,令其萎縮和變得虛弱,而情況更會隨著年齡的增長而惡化。視乎發病的年齡和肌肉無力的嚴重程度,常見的脊髓肌肉萎縮症可分為三種類型,分別是一至三型;零型和四型屬非常罕見。

脊髓肌肉萎縮症一型 是最常見的一種類型,屬於嚴重的類型。患者在出生時便開始出現明顯的肌肉無力,基本動作例如抬頭、轉身、坐直等均不能完成;嚴重者不能吸吮及吞嚥。大部分患者會因為呼吸肌肉也受到影響而導致呼吸衰竭,最終只能活到兩歲。

脊髓肌肉萎縮症二型 患者在6至12個月大時開始出現肌肉無力。他們可以獨自坐直,但不能站立或行走,一般只能活到三十多歲。脊髓肌肉萎縮症三型患者在兒童期就開始出現肌肉無力。他們初期可以獨自站立和行走,但最終因為大腿肌肉無力而需要依靠輪椅,一般會有正常的壽命。

脊髓肌肉萎縮症的發病率約為1:8,000至10,000。此病是由SMN1基因突變而引起,是一種常染色體隱性遺傳病。

囊性纖維化(CF)

囊性纖維化的特徵是患者全身都有粘稠的粘液積聚,令許多器官受損,包括呼吸系統和消化系統,繼而引起許多健康問題。雖然如此,現在醫學昌明,許多囊性纖維化患者都可以活到成年。大部分男性囊性纖維化患者的輸精管被粘液阻塞,令其無法正常發育而導致先天性雙側無輸精管(CBAVD),需要依靠輔助生育治療才有機會生育。女性囊性纖維化患者在妊娠期間會有較高的機會出現妊娠併發症。

囊性纖維化在白人族群中很常見。每2,500名白人初生嬰兒中,便有1名患有囊性纖維化。此病在其他種族中較少見,大約每31,000亞洲人中只有1人會受到影響。此病是由CFTR基因突變而引起,是一種常染色體隱性遺傳病。

地中海貧血

地中海貧血屬遺傳性貧血,可分為甲型(α)和乙型(β)兩種類型。

甲型(α)地中海貧血:

人體內有四個α球蛋白基因,從父母雙方各遺傳兩個,以控制紅血球內血紅蛋白α鏈的製造。當一個或多個α球蛋白基因不能正常地運作,便會出現甲型地中海貧血,其嚴重程度取決於不能正常地的運作α球蛋白基因的數目。當四個α球蛋白基因全部都失去功能,便會出現重型的甲型地中海貧血,又稱Hb Bart綜合症,令大部分受影響的胎兒因嚴重貧血而胎死腹中或夭折;而孕婦也會罹患嚴重的妊娠併發症,包括妊娠毒血症、羊水過多和早產。

乙型(β)地中海貧血:

紅血球內血紅蛋白β鏈的製造受兩個β球蛋白基因的控制,一個遺傳自父親,另一個遺傳自母親。當一個或兩個β球蛋白基因不能正常地運作,便會出現乙型地中海貧血,其嚴重程度視乎不能正常地運作的β球蛋白基因數目。當兩個β球蛋白基因都失去功能,便會出現重型的乙型地中海貧血,又稱Cooley's貧血。患者在兩歲前就會出現嚴重貧血,需要定期輸血以維持生命。長期輸血導致體內鐵質積聚,從而造成肝臟、心臟和賀爾蒙的問題。

兩種類型的地中海貧血在全世界都很普遍,特別是在東南亞、地中海國家、非洲、中東、印度和中亞。香港約有8%的人口為地中海貧血基因攜帶者或稱輕型地中海貧血。甲型地中海貧血是由HBA1和HBA2基因缺失而引起,而乙型地中海貧血則由HBB基因突變而引起。雖然甲型地中海貧血的遺傳方式較為複雜,但這兩種類型的地中海貧血基本上都是常染色體隱性遺傳病。

脆性X綜合症

脆性X綜合症(FXS)是導致遺傳性智力障礙最常見的原因。這是一種X染色體顯性遺傳病。所有男性全突變基因攜帶者均會患上FXS,出現學習困難(智商低於70)、行為問題和某些身體特徵。約有50%的女性全突變基因攜帶者會患上FXS,出現輕度至中度的智力障礙,嚴重程度一般較男性患者輕微。

女性前突變基因攜帶者年輕時沒有任何症狀;但有可能患上卵巢早衰,於40歲前絕經(脆性X相關的原發性卵巢功能不全症,FXPOI);男性和女性前突變基因攜帶者也有可能到50歲時才出現晚發型神經性紊亂(脆性X相關的運動失調症候群,FXTAS)。女性前突變基因攜帶者可將其異常基因遺傳給下一代,而其前突變基因有可能在遺傳的過程中變為全突變基因並導致孩子患上FXS。

每250–1,000名女性中便有一位是脆性X前突變基因攜帶者。此病是一種X染色體顯性遺傳病。如家族成員曾患上脆性X相關疾病或與脆性X相關的智力障礙、或女士自身有卵巢功能不全,便應接受脆性X前突變基因攜帶者篩查。

香港生育康健中心提供的ECS檢測包涵了301種遺傳性基因病,當中已涵蓋了ACOG和ACMG所建議篩查的疾病。因其包涵的疾病範圍廣泛,所以不用考慮被篩查人士的種族。

ECS是怎樣施行的?

你要面見醫生,和醫生討論ECS的好處和局限性。如果你選擇進行篩查,便要簽署同意書,然後在診所進行抽血以獲取血液樣本送檢,3至4星期後便會有結果。

怎樣解讀我的報告?

陰性結果:顯示未有發現測試系列基因病的致病突變基因,即你會將這些基因病遺傳給下一代的機率大大降低。但是ECS只可檢測指定系列基因病的已知致病突變,並不能找出每種基因病的所有致病突變。因此,即使你的報告是陰性,也不能完全排除你沒有攜帶已測試的基因病,但機率比未測試前大大降低,此稱為剩餘風險。而且,ECS也不能檢測所有已知的基因病。因此,陰性結果也不能保證嬰兒一定健康。

陽性結果:顯示你帶有一種或多種基因病的致病突變基因。你的健康不會因此而受影響,但你的下一代可能會罹患此病。下一步是測試你的伴侶是否也攜帶相同的突變基因。

夫婦都攜帶相同的突變基因怎麼辦?

如果ECS顯示夫婦都攜帶相同的突變基因,他們的下一代就可能會受到影響,他們可考慮以下的選擇: