Useful Informaton Health Informaton




Pre-marital / Pre-pregnancy Blood Tests

  1. Haemoglobin

    A haemoglobin test can tell if a person has anaemia. If the haemoglobin level is low, the person needs other tests to identify the cause and the type of anaemia, and to see whether treatment is necessary.

  2. Thalassaemia

    Thalassaemia is a hereditary type of anaemia. Around 8% of the population in Hong Kong are carriers of this disease. The condition is also called thalassaemia minor. A blood test for MCV value can be used as a screening test to check if a person may be a thalassaemia carrier. If the MCV level is low, further tests will be necessary to confirm if the person is indeed a thalassaemia carrier and to differentiate if the person is an alpha(α)-thalassaemia or a beta(β)-thalassaemia carrier. If the couple are both carriers of the same type of thalassaemia gene, their baby will have a one in four chance of suffering from thalassaemia major, a severe form of anaemia. Babies with α-thalassaemia major may die before or soon after birth. Babies with β-thalassaemia major require lifelong regular blood transfusion and medication. Couples carrying the same type of thalassaemia gene can consider prenatal diagnosis to check if the baby is affected by thalassaemia major so that the most appropriate treatment or follow up can be arranged early.

  3. Hepatitis B surface antigen and Hepatitis B surface antibody

    Around 10% of the population in Hong Kong are carriers of Hepatitis B (link to Hepatitis B under medical information-Vaccinations) virus, but most carriers do not have any symptoms. However, the virus can cause acute hepatitis, or chronic liver cirrhosis and liver cancer. Hepatitis B surface antigen test (HBsAg) is the test for Hepatitis B carrier status. Hepatitis B virus can be found in the body fluid of the carriers, such as blood, semen, vaginal discharge and amniotic fluid. It can therefore be transmitted by blood or sexual contact, and can also be transmitted from the carrier mother to the baby during delivery. The newborn of a Hepatitis B carrier mother should receive Hepatitis B immunoglobulin injection to reduce the chance of infection. Individuals who are not Hepatitis B carriers and do not have Hepatitis B antibody (HBsAb) can consider Hepatitis B vaccination.

  4. Rubella (German measles) antibody

    A woman who has received Rubella vaccination or has had the infection before should have protection against the infection, and therefore can avoid passing the virus to her baby during pregnancy. If a mother who does not have immunity and contacts the Rubella virus during pregnancy, the infection may cause congenital abnormality in the baby, such as deafness, blindness and heart abnormality. If the blood test shows that the woman does not have Rubella antibody (Rubella IgG), she should receive Rubella vaccination before trying for a pregnancy.

  5. VDRL (Testing for Syphilis infection)

    VDRL is a screening test for syphilis infection. If the test shows a positive result, it may indicate syphilis infection but further tests are required to confirm. A mother who is infected with syphilis during pregnancy may miscarry; or the baby may have congenital abnormality such as deafness and blindness. Early treatment can reduce the chance of infection in the baby.

  6. Blood group and Rhesus factor

    There are four major blood groups, based on the presence or absence of two antigens – A and B – on the surface of red blood cells. In addition to the A and B antigens, there is a protein called the Rhesus factor, which can be either present (+) or absent (–), creating the 8 commonest blood types: A+, A–, B+, B–, O+, O–, AB+ and AB–. Most Chinese are Rhesus positive (Rh+). If a woman is tested Rhesus negative (Rh-) and her spouse is Rhesus positive (Rh+), there is a possibility of incompatibility between the blood types of the mother and the baby, leading to haemolytic disease of the baby. A Rhesus negative (Rh–) mother needs regular blood checks to see if she needs anti-D immunoglobulin injections during pregnancy and after delivery.

  7. HIV antibody test

    AIDS stands for Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, and is caused by infection with the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). This virus mainly destroys a white blood cell called CD4 T lymphocytes. This results in a decrease in immunity and hence the person may be vulnerable to infections and cancers. The full-blown syndrome is called AIDS. Without proper treatment, 50% of HIV carriers will develop AIDS in 10 years. AIDS patients may suffer from opportunistic infections such as tuberculosis or fungal infection, thus increase their mortality rate. Most of these opportunistic infections can be prevented or treated with medications. Unfortunately, there is no treatment for AIDS up to this date. The modes of transmission include sexual contact or blood contact. There is also a 15–40% chance of transmitting the virus from the mother to the baby during pregnancy, delivery or breast feeding. Treatment during pregnancy and delivery can reduce this chance.

Apart from the standard blood tests, there are other optional tests that a couple may wish to consider.

  1. Chickenpox antibody test

    Chickenpox is a very contagious disease caused by the Varicella-zoster virus (VZV). It is spread by breathing in droplets from infected people that get into the air when they cough or sneeze, or touching the virus particles from chickenpox blisters. Anyone who has never had the disease or never been vaccinated can be easily infected. If an expectant mother gets infected in early pregnancy, the baby may be affected by various congenital abnormalities including skin lesions, neurological defects, eye diseases, skeletal anomalies or even neonatal death. Women with no history of chickenpox infection can have a blood test to check if they have the antibody (VZV IgG). Those without the antibody can consider the Chickenpox vaccine before trying for a pregnancy.

  2. Expanded carrier screening (ECS)

    Carriers of recessive genetic diseases are usually healthy and do not have symptoms or have only mild symptoms. They often do not have a family history of the disorder. Therefore, most individuals do not know their carrier status unless they undergo genetic disease screening. Carrier screening is a type of genetic test that analyzes a couple’s DNA to identify whether they are both carriers of a genetic disorder, thus providing specific information about their child’s risk for certain genetic disorders.

    The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) recommends all women who are considering pregnancy should be offered carrier screening for spinal muscular atrophy (SMA), cystic fibrosis (CF), thalassemia and haemoglobinopathies. Fragile X premutation carrier screening is recommended for women with a family history of Fragile X-related disorders or intellectual disability suggestive of Fragile X syndrome, or women with a personal history of ovarian insufficiency. Additional screening may also be indicated based on family history or specific ethnicity. The American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics (ACMG) concurs with a similar advice.

    Expanded carrier screening (ECS) means that a panel of inherited genetic disorders is screened in a single blood sample. The ECS test offered in our clinic covers 302 genes, and includes all those genetic diseases recommended to be screened by both the ACOG and the ACMG as well as Fragile X carrier screening.

Useful Informaton 健康資訊




婚前 / 懷孕前常規驗血檢查

  1. 血色素

  2. 血色素測試可以判斷是否患有貧血。如果血色素偏低,便需進行其他檢查以確定其貧血的原因和類型,及是否需要藥物或其他治療。

  3. 地中海貧血

  4. 地中海貧血是一種遺傳性貧血病,本港大約有8%人口為地中海貧血基因攜帶者或稱輕型地中海貧血。驗血檢測平均紅血球容積(MCV)便能初步估計是否攜帶地中海貧血基因;若報告結果顯示MCV水平低,便需作進一步檢查,以確定並區分屬甲型(α)或乙型(β)地中海貧血基因攜帶者。如果夫婦都帶有相同類型的地中海貧血基因,其胎兒便有四分之一的機會患有重型地中海貧血病。甲型重型地中海貧血的胎兒會胎死腹中或夭折;乙型重型地中海貧血的嬰兒出生後則終生需要定期輸血和接受藥物治療。屬同類型地中海貧血基因攜帶者的夫婦可考慮產前診斷檢查,及早知道胎兒是否患有重型地中海貧血,以便作出適當的治療及跟進。

  5. 乙型肝炎抗原及乙型肝炎抗體

    本港大約有10%人口為乙型肝炎帶菌者。大部份帶菌者並無任何病徵,但此病毒亦可引起急性肝炎或導致慢性肝硬化和肝癌。如果驗血結果顯示乙型肝炎抗原(HBsAg)呈陽性反應,表示為乙型肝炎帶菌者。乙型肝炎病毒存在於帶菌者的體液中,包括血液、精液、陰道分泌物及羊胎水,所以乙型肝炎是透過血液接觸或性接觸而傳播的,而乙型肝炎帶菌的孕婦也可於分娩時把病毒傳給胎兒。乙型肝炎帶菌的孕婦,其所生的初生嬰兒需接受乙型肝炎免疫球蛋白注射,以減少嬰兒受感染的機會。若非乙型肝炎帶菌者,亦沒有乙型肝炎抗體(HBsAb)者,可考慮接種乙型肝炎疫苗,使其産生抗體而避免受感染。

  6. 德國麻疹(俗稱風疹)抗體

    女士如果在懷孕前曾接種德國麻疹疫苗或曾感染過德國麻疹,體內應已產生抗體(Rubella IgG),可避免於懷孕期間因感染德國麻疹而引致胎兒有先天性缺陷,例如耳聾、失明、先天性心臟病等。若驗血結果呈陰性(即沒有抗體),則應在嘗試懷孕前接種德國麻疹疫苗,以避免在懷孕期間感染德國麻疹。

  7. VDRL梅毒感染測試

    VDRL是梅毒感染的篩查測試。如果驗血結果呈陽性反應,則表示可能有梅毒感染,但需作進一步測試以確定。如女士被確診感染梅毒,及早接受治療,可避免於懷孕期間經胎盤把梅毒傳給胎兒,而導致流產或胎兒先天性異常,例如耳聾和失明。

  8. 血型和Rh因子(恆河猴因子) 檢查

    根據紅血球表面上是否存在A和B這兩種抗原,可把血型分為四種主要類型。除了A和B抗原外,還有一種蛋白稱為Rh因子,它可以存在(+)或不存在(–),從而產生八種最常見的血液類型:A +,A–,B +,B–,O +,O–,AB +和AB–。大部份中國人對Rh因子均呈陽性反應,即Rh+。若女士的Rh D因子呈陰性(Rh–),而其配偶的Rh D因子呈陽性(Rh+),則孕婦和嬰兒的血型可能不相容,從而導致胎兒於宮內發生溶血性貧血。因此,Rh D因子呈陰性(Rh–)的孕婦需要定期進行血液測試,以決定在產前及產後是否需要接受抗Rh免疫球蛋白注射。

  9. 愛滋病病毒抗體

    愛滋病是由英文 Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome(AIDS)音譯過來的,其學名為「後天免疫力缺乏症」,是由人類免疫力缺乏病毒(HIV),簡稱愛滋病病毒所引致。此病毒主要破壞一種名為 CD4 T淋巴細胞的白血球,令人體逐漸喪失免疫能力,無法抵抗不同種類的感染和癌症的侵襲,最後演變為愛滋病。如果沒得到合適的醫治,平均約五成的愛滋病帶菌者會在10年內演變成愛滋病病人。病人或會出現機會性感染,例如結核病和真菌感染,增加死亡的風險。大部分的機會性感染都可靠藥物預防或治療。可是,現時仍未有方法完全根治愛滋病。它的傳染途徑包括性接觸或血液接觸;受感染的母親在懷孕、分娩、或餵哺母乳過程中也有15–40%的機會將病毒傳給嬰兒。在懷孕和分娩期間接受治療,可減低嬰兒受感染的機會。

除了標準的血液檢查外,一些夫妻也可以考慮其他檢查。

  1. 水痘抗體檢測

    水痘是由水痘帶狀疱疹病毒(VZV)引起的急性傳染病,病毒是透過患者咳嗽和飛沫傳播,亦可因接觸患者皮膚上的水泡而受感染。但凡沒有患過水痘或沒有接種水痘疫苗的人士均有機會感染水痘;而女士在懷孕初期若感染水痘,可能會導致胎兒有先天性缺陷,包括皮膚病、腦部發育不健全、眼疾、骨骼不正常、甚至夭折。沒有水痘感染史的女士可以進行血液檢查水痘抗體(VZV IgG);沒有抗體者可在嘗試懷孕前接種水痘疫苗

  2. 擴張性遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查(ECS)

    隱性遺傳病基因攜帶者通常是健康及沒有症狀,或只有輕微症狀的。他們一般也沒有家族遺傳病史。所以,大部份隱性遺傳病基因攜帶者在篩查前都不知道自己帶有致病的突變基因。遺傳病基因篩查是檢測夫婦是否攜帶某些遺傳病基因,從而評估他們的下一代患有這些遺傳病的機會。

    美國婦產科協會(ACOG)建議所有準備懷孕的女士都應考慮進行脊髓性肌肉萎縮症(SMA) 、囊狀纖維化(CF)、地中海貧血和血紅蛋白病的基因攜帶者篩查。如家族成員曾患上FXS或與脆性X相關的智力障礙、或自身有卵巢功能不全的女士,也應進行脆性X前突變基因攜帶者篩查。有其他家族病史或特定種族的女士還需進行其他篩查。美國醫學遺傳學與基因組學協會(ACMG)也有類似的建議。

    擴展性遺傳病基因攜帶者篩查(ECS)是以單一血液樣本檢測一系列特定的遺傳病基因。我們診所提供的ECS檢測包涵了301種遺傳病基因,當中已涵蓋ACOG和ACMG所建議篩查的疾病,也包括了脆性X基因篩查。